Gratitude

I am so honored and filled with smiles by Hadea’s sweet comment after Hayloft Yoga last evening and I want to share it with all of you!

“Each week I show up for Hayloft Yoga with Jessie I think I am there for my body, my flexibility and my strength. 60 minutes later I realize I am there because it fills my soul.

It is like filling up a bag with coffee beans at the grocery store:  you slide your little bag under the spout and lean into it and WHOOSH!  It is full.  It aligns me with Source in such a full way I am awash with self love and compassion.  So so so so good. ♡”

~Hadea Tift

Hayloft_Yoga_Blocks_Strap_Blanket_Tingshas_QuoteSigh.

It fills me up to have the opportunity to teach yoga in one of the most peaceful spots I can imagine, to some of the sweetest folks I could ask to know, who are equally willing to open up and feel ~ deeply ~ how full their souls already are.  Yoga gives us the tools to do just that: to let go of the cloudiness and see clearly that we are really already full inside.  I have so much gratitude to each of you for being a part of my community.

You help me feel full, too!

I’d like to leave you with the quote I read at the start of class, from a book I am enjoying so very much called Zen Mind Zen Horse.  I recommend it whole-heartedly to all of you!

“One lesson horses teach us right away is that intention begins with inspiration.  The foundation of training begins and ends with a breath.  Deep breathing disciplines us to slow down.  As predators, we like everything as fast as possible, preferably yesterday.  Why?  The faster the action, the quicker the reward.  For prey animals it is just the opposite.  The slower the action is, the more it gets absorbed.

Prey animals are patient.  For them, rushing is inextricably linked to fear.  Proper learning and reflection require tranquility and safety.  As super-charged predators, humans need to purposefully slow themselves down.  Breathing benefits the trainer by assembling and focusing her attention.”

~ Allan J. Hamilton, MD

I invite you to check in throughout your day with a deep, yogic belly breath.  See how gently you can expand and lengthen your inhale, and how softly, slowly and completely you can experience the exhale.  Just one deep, slow breath, a few times throughout your day.  I’m confident it will remind you of how to feel full of Source, or Love, or Compassion, or whatever it is you think you lack.

Breathing deeply,

Namaste.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirations

Questions or Comments

